Electric Blues
Return to Review Index
U.P. Wilson

JSP 1999
Review Published June 1, 1999
Artist Bio at RadioFreeTEXAS
AMG Artist Bio/Discography/CD Reviews

Track Listing
  1. Made Up My Mind
  2. Texas Squaling
  3. You Say You Love Me
  4. Let Her Go
  5. I Believe
  6. Crazy Things
  7. Rock Me
  8. Chunky
  9. Hold On Woman
  10. Booting
EB Rating - 4.5

    From the very first riffs of Booting, the sound of U.P. Wilson's guitar is unavoidable. His rhythmic playing style is energetic, unique, and very infectious. The overall mood of this CD is very upbeat, with a couple of slow burners mixed in to break things up a bit. For most cuts, the band consists simply of guitar, bass and drums. Three cuts feature the addition of harmonica.
    I'm fairly new to the term "Urban Blues", and somewhat uncertain about its exact definition. But if I had to venture a guess, I'd say U.P. is definitive of that style of play. The sound of his guitar is aggressive & raunchy, yet simple and straight forward. I doubt there's much in the way of add-on's here, just guitar & amp. His vocal style is basic blues as well, and although he occasionally falls off key, the vast majority of the time he's right on. His vocal style is an excellent match for his style of play and song selection.
    A word of caution to those who have come to know me for the blues-rock guitar glutton I am. This is not blues-rock, but pure blues. The lead is not timid by any means, but neither is it the main feature. It is, however, definitely electric. Pronounced rhythm riffs are the focus, and keep this CD in high gear most of the time.
    It's difficult to pick out my favorites on this one. There are only one or two cuts that don't keep pace with the overall package. This CD is very consistant without seeming boring or repetitive, a combination very difficult to achieve, and one I have come to admire. Along with Smokey Wilson(not related), U.P. Wilson could be classified as one of the missing links between traditional electric blues and contemporary rock-blues (with a hard lean towards traditional), and I believe many patrons from both camps will enjoy this CD.
Return to Review Index