Electric Blues
Return to Review Index
The Kelly Richey Band
Sweet Lucy 1998
Review Published Sept 15, 1999
Artist Spotlite on Kelly Richey
Kelly Richey Band at MP3.com

Track Listing
  1. My Baby's Gone Crazy
  2. Talks All Over Town
  3. Traveling
  4. Red House
  5. The Blues Don't Lie
  6. Walkin' By Myself
  7. Cracked & Bent
  8. Is Anybody Listening
  9. It Was A Good Time
  10. Further On Up The Road
  11. Trouble In Mind
  12. Before You Accuse Me
  13. Crossroads
  14. All Along The Watchtower
EB Rating - 4.0

    The Kelly Richey Band is a three piece group based in Cincinatti, Ohio. The band is fronted by guitarist/vocalist Kelly Richey. Kelly is no dainty blues lady. Her guitar, which is heavily featured throughout the CD, is charged with an appreciable amount of over-driven blues-rock tone and a strong, aggressive style of play. Her vocals are strong as well, acquiring a hard, jagged edge when the mood calls for it. She also has songwriting talent, writing or colaborating on 7 of the 14 songs. I found all of the band's original material to be quite good, holding up well against the high profile covers on the disc.
    Rather than being a recording of a single show, this CD is a collection of live performances from several different venues. Running time is quite long, clocking in at over 76 minutes. But it doesn't seem that long when listening to the CD. I think this is due in part to the organization of the musical content. 6 acoustic songs are sandwiched between opening and closing sets of guitar-driven blues and blues-rock. For the most part, the electric numbers are energized originals and covers of blues standards, including covers of Jimi Hendrix's Red House and Bob Dylan's All Along The Watchtower. Although the CD is a compilation of various performances, it flows really well. I did find that the extended lead breaks out-lived their effectiveness a time or two. But, in fairness, this is a live recording and Kelly was undoubtedly reacting to the enthusiasm of the audience.
    I would normally contend that an acoustic set is pretty much out of place on a CD that features such agressive electric blues. But I must say this is a stong, well played acoustic set which, like the electric selections, features a good mix of original and cover material.
    If you like up front blues-rock guitar, it's hard to go wrong with this CD. Throw in some quality vocals to round things out, and an interesting set of acoustic numbers for variety, and you've got an all around entertaining CD. I gave this CD a 4.0, but I want to break it down a little farther by pointing out that The Kelly Richey Band: Live is solidly on the plus side of 4.0.

Return to Review Index