Electric Blues
Return to Review Index
  Blues Cat
Live at the Blue Sky Tavern
Self-Produced - 2001
Visit the official Blues Cat website
Review Published April 29, 2001

Discography / Soundclips
Track Listing
  1. She Caught The Kady
  2. Good Day For The Blues
  3. Grits Ain't Groceries
  4. Have You Ever Loved a Woman
  5. Come On (Let the Good Times Roll)
  6. Better Days
  7. Litte Wing
  8. That's Messed Up
  9. Couldn't Stand The Weather
  10. Southbound
  11. Whippin' Post
  12. Don't Make Me Cry
EB Rating - 4.5

  • Jeff Robinson
  • Greg Billingsly
  • Bob Patten
  • Ben Marshall
    Atlanta, GA based Blues Cat is a four member blues-rock band consisting of lead vocalist, guitar, bass and drums. The band sounds tight and balanced. Vocals are solid, full bodied, and well suited to the blues. The guitar work is also strong, with nice tone that's not heavily over-driven, but still has plenty of bite and sustain when called for. Instrument mixing is right on and overall audio quality is very good, although the din of a lively crowd is often noticable during songs.
    The song list is primarily a selection of well-chosen covers written or favored by several mentors, including Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and the Southern flavored blues of The Allman Brothers Band. By and large the songs are performed with due appreciation to their origins, yet with just enough artistic liberty to give them a bit of freshness.
    I wouldn't say that this is strictly a guitar dominated recording, but guitar fans will hear more than enough to keep them interested throughout the disc. One of my favorites from this disc is the slow-burning blues number Have You Ever Loved a Woman, which is performed with the kind of power and passion that makes me a fan of the blues. Another of my favorites is the band's energetic rendition of Southbound. Blues Cat's versions of Good Day For The Blues, Come On, and Little Wing are all also very much to my liking.
    Blues guitar fans will surely enjoy this disc, but I don't feel it's for guitar heads only. While it does feature a good amount of guitar playing, it's not exclusively of the in-your-face variety. The band covers a good range of styles and includes nice reditions of some favorite classics. Based on the music on this CD, I'd say getting out and catching a Blues Cat performance would be well worth the effort.

Return to Review Index